The familiarity of this story to me is both at once depressing (as in lonely Saturday night with Bridget
Jones’ Diary and a bottle of vodka depressing) and oddly comforting. apparently the Italians have a rival in the match-making business.

I’d just like to add that for anyone resorting to desperate measures to find the perfect partner, daily devotionals to St. Anthony don’t work. Trust me on this. If, however, you remain unconvinced and wish to test the theory yourself, recite the following before bed each night, as quoted from my Sicilian grandmother: “Tony, Tony, find me a man. Find me a man as fast as you can”. Either Tony is taking his sweet time, or “suitable life partners” doesn’t appear on the list of items he has been contracted to search for by the almighty.

But I take comfort. IF a verbally incontinent spinster who drinks like a fish, smokes like a chimney and dresses like her mother can score a lifetime with Mark Darcy, there must be a match out there for the Victorianist feminist scholar who quotes the Brontes in casual conversation, reads 800 page novels for fun, and names pets after literary characters. (also: I can cook.

The Chronicles of a Skinny Jeans-Wearing Toronto girl

We are officially in the month of February and the fact that this is Valentine’s Day month is not lost on me this year. In previous years, Valentine’s Day was just like the Good Friday before Easter. It was a day when I avoided wearing red and waited with bated breath for the resurrection of half price chocolate so as to indulge my fat face in all its forbidden sugary goodness. February 15th was Diabetic Coma day, a far better excuse for “a holiday” in my opinion.

This year though is different. My mother has already informed me that she’s praying for me to find a ‘good man’. This year her good man prayer surpassed my immigration prayer on her prayer list. I wondered at why this phenomenon had come about all of a sudden. And then I knew why: This year, I’m 25.

You see, 25 in regular girl years equals 35 in Indian girl…

View original post 656 more words

2 Comments »

  1. I don’t have much to add to what you’ve already written, except that don’t always believe that the grass is greener on the other side. I have been on both sides and they both have their perks – trust me. Smile. I really enjoy your blog – thanks so much for sharing it!

  2. You know how when you lose your keys and you can’t find them…the harder you look the worst you feel? Then having sat down – without a hope and in total despair – there they are. Life is sometimes like that. Life is an adventure for sure.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Think about it!

