Colin Firth 1, Ricky Gervais 0: or, why you shouldn’t mess with a racist blind kitten-puncher

After the 2010 and 2011 Golden Globe Awards, I thought we’d all had our fair share of Ricky Gervais…apparently not. The BBC has posted a list of Gervais’s more…quotable comments from last night’s award ceremony.

Normally my smiling muscles barely remember how to twitch at Gervais, and I have been accused of being in need of a sense of humor transplant for that, but when he accused Colin Firth of being a small animal-torturing racist, I confess I failed miserably at my determination to keep from laughing–not at Gervais’s comment, but at the characteristically Colinesque rejoinder: Colin Firth and Ricky Gervais at the 2012 Golden Globes

Colin Firth 1, Ricky Gervais 0.

Ah well, what else did I expect? As Gervais himself said, what other job allows you to get drunk, say whatever the hell you want, and still get paid for it?

4 Comments »

  1. He sounds a lot like a blogger…except for the getting paid part…we should check into that…

    • poetprodigy7 said

      Yes, the getting paid part. I’d rather like that.

  2. LKD said

    I know this isn’t really adding anything to the conversation, and I don’t know him personally, but I’ve always thought Ricky Gervais is a slime-ball. More points for Colin in my book!

    • poetprodigy7 said

      Hee, you don’t need to justify adding to the conversation to talk about Colin, as far as I’m concerned. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Think about it!

