Going Once, Going Twice, Sold!: Charity Cash for Colin!

The following is another moment of hilarity brought to you by the lovely and talented Colin Firth, to whom I am eternally grateful for ensuring that my life never experiences a shortage of smiles.

Yesterday in the midst of the holiday rush of clearing work off of my desk and packing for my trip, I stumbled across a post on Twitter by the lovely Livia Firth, wife of a certain Oscar-winning actor, stating the following: “My husband is for sale! He is not cheep I warn you.” This message was accompanied by a link to EBay and a chance to bid on a night with Colin at the L.A launch party for the soon-to-be released film “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy,” to raise money to benefit Oxfam. There followed some lighthearted banter between a friend and I about going halvsies on the bidding and my registered amusement that beneath “item condition” there appeared only a series of dashes. To whomever is lucky enough to have been the highest bidder, the Colin Firth fan community (and I’m sure his lovely Livia) begs you to please not damage the merchandise and return him to the shelf when the rental period has expired. (I’ve blogged a lot about both my enjoyment and my academic interest in Colin Firth’s work, but I have no qualms admitting that I also find him strikingly handsome. What do you think of that, Mr. Firth? Even blind women are dazzled by your dimples).

It might interest you all to know that when I last checked, the current U.S market value of a night with Colin Firth was exactly $5200. Not exactly a red-ticket item, is he? I was hoping for a black Friday deal. Perhaps the good folks at EBay could put him on layaway while I search my couch cushions for spare change (or a handful of cookie crumbs). They always say you get what you pay for, and considering the quality of the merchandise, it’s still quite a bargain.

Kudos to Mr. and Mrs. Firth for being good sports for such a worthy cause and for your continued dedication to promoting the spread of justice and an end to poverty. On today of all days, we’re thankful for such as you!

4 Comments »

  1. breezyk said

    haha I’ll go halfsies with you!!

    • poetprodigy7 said

      Wouldn’t anyone? He’s a perfect darling, isn’t he?

  2. breezyk said

    Yes! and so are you- that’s why I gave you the Liebster blog award 🙂 go check out my latest post!

    • poetprodigy7 said

      You did? Really? I am so honored! Thank you so very, very much!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Think about it!

