Is it Over? Can I Look now?

Project Give Thanks day 13

Is it really Friday? This week has felt longer than a dickens novel, and it took me four months to read Bleakhouse, so this is saying something. All week I’ve felt like I did the first time I road Splash Mountain, keeping my eyes resolutely squeezed shut and hoping it would just be over. Or perhaps it’s felt more like the scary boat scene in Willy Wanka and the Chocolate factory. I was just about to stomp my foot and demand, Verruca style, that someone stop the ride, when I opened my eyes and realized that, miraculously it seemed, we had arrived at Friday!

I am supremely thankful it’s Friday, and thus far at least, it’s been a good one. I no longer have a migraine, the weather is marginally cool enough to wear the brand new boots I emptied my bank account for last week, and in celebration of that, I put together the perfect outfit that subsequently made me far too hot to go to work. I should really be sitting in a posh café sipping a latte with an attractive male companion.

Of course, the point of all of this perkiness is to distract myself from thinking about the fact that today ought to have been the original release date of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. Admittedly the new release date is only three weeks away, but that’s entirely beside the point. Telling me that I must be subjected to a prolonged wait for Benedict Cumberbatch and Colin Firth on screen together is like telling a five year-old that his birthday has been canceled. Great. Now I’m depressed. I need a cookie. Excuse me; I’m going to go open a bottle of wine and watch another episode of “Sherlock”. Do I know how to spend a Friday night or what?

What are you thankful for today?

Think about it!

