Raise Your Cup of Joe: Celebrating National Coffee Day!

Yet again, I have Twitter to thank for reminding me of the existence of arbitrary holidays: today, National Coffee Day!

As is probably glaringly obvious (see blog name), coffee is my elixir—a daily blend of ritual and routine without which my physical and mental state would probably be more chaotic than it already is. I begin each day with it, rain or shine; during the work week, it’s the source of fuel that sets my gears in motion; on a Saturday morning, it’s the lazy luxury I linger over as I check e-mail, read a book, or just sit on my porch and drink in the details of the morning that all too often I find little time to appreciate in the workaday whirl. A friend once suggested to me during a year when I had difficulty deciding what my Lenten sacrifice would be, that I should give up coffee, to which I pointed out that spending 40 days in a comatose state would do little toward enabling me to experience the spiritual benefits of Lent. Besides, the purpose of Lent is penitence and spiritual growth; prompting my friends, family, coworkers, and students to contemplate murdering me because of my under-caffeinated crankiness would do little for their spiritual welfare, let alone mine. As my brother is fond of saying, Jesus suffered so we wouldn’t have to.

Coffee, at any rate, has filled every aspect of my life with its aroma; many a cup has kept me company during long, sleepless nights; it fills the cracks in my heart with comfort when I’m feeling low-spirited; some of my most memorable heart-to-hearts with my best friend have occurred over a cup of Joe; I saw immediate relationship potential in my most recent boyfriend during our first encounter at a local coffee shop (two years before we even considered dating). Any man who can defend Dunkin’ Donuts coffee over Starbucks with the fervor of political debate and logically argue his preference for mountain-grown coffee over coffee produced at lower altitudes is worthy of consideration as the potential father of my children.

Are you a coffee drinker? What role does coffee have in your daily routine? Is it a perky afternoon pick-me-up? A morning wake-up call? Do you drink so much of it that you’re in the market for an intravenous caffeine drip? Whatever, whenever, and however you take it: have yourself a cup of Joe and celebrate the full, flavorful, aromatic awesomeness that is coffee!

3 Comments »

  1. John said

    I love coffee, especially before very long, boring classes. The only problem is it just runs right through me, although that in effect helps to keep me awake also. Hard to sleep when you’re, uh, uncomfortable. Haha. I’ll drink more of it as the temperature goes down, for sure.

    • poetprodigy7 said

      Yes–it has that effect on me as well. I have to always be careful not to drink too much of it if I know I’ll be required to sit for long stretches of time.

  2. Allison said

    I only drink coffee on the days I teach (I don’t want to get hooked to the point where I can’t function without it), but I really do enjoy it. I don’t think I’d be able to drag my butt off the couch on those early mornings without it, let alone last through the day. That boost of energy is especially helpful for keeping students’ attention — they watch me to see what wall I’m going to bounce off of next. Coffee is my very special friend.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Think about it!

